This Maine State Park and National Historic Landmark was the summer home of Arctic explorer Robert E. Peary and his family. The original house and caretaker’s cottage were built in 1904 and expanded in 1911. It was at Eagle Island in 1909 that Robert Peary’s wife Josephine received a telegram bringing her the news that Peary had reached the North Pole. The explorer spent much time on the island in the years after his North Pole achievement and before his death in 1920, writing and investigating the new possibilities presented by air travel. In 1967 Peary’s children gave Eagle Island to the state of Maine. Today, Eagle Island is managed by a full-time park ranger assisted by volunteers from The Friends of Peary’s Eagle Island. Eagle Island and the Peary home are open seasonally from June 15 to Labor Day, although nature trails are closed until July 15 to protect nesting birds. Access is by boat only. Moorings are available for visiting private boats or visitors can take a scheduled tour from Portland, Freeport, or Harpswell.
Eagle Island on Google Earth. Accessible by boat only, 3 miles off the coast of Harpswell – see website for directions.
Image courtesy of Xin Jiang’20 and Friends of Peary’s Eagle Island.